Ten finalists have been named in the search for the 14th member of the Packers FAN Hall of Fame, and voting will begin Sunday, Jan. 1, for fans to make the selection.

The first professional team to have its own hall of fame, the Green Bay Packers enhanced that distinction in 1998, by establishing a Packers FAN Hall of Fame. It was founded for the purpose of annually honoring a devout and longtime Packers fan. FAN Hall of Fame sponsors are Best Buy, Mattress Firm, Goodwill and the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

Packers fans were asked to nominate themselves or a friend for the honor with an essay of 500 words or less, accompanied by a photo, explaining why he or she should be recognized. From those nominations, 10 finalists were selected by the Packers FAN Hall of Fame selection committee.

This year’s 10 finalists are:

  • Gary Green, Lake Worth, Fla.
  • Jimmy Krueger, Euless, Texas.
  • Joe Kuhar, Janesville, Wis.
  • Lana Longe, New Berlin, Wis.
  • Peter Michaud, Milwaukee, Wis.
  • Lori Mueller, Eland, Wis.
  • Joe Phillips, Nolanville, Texas.
  • Rick Steele, Greensburg, Pa.
  • Mark Stegmeier, Calgary, AB, Canada.
  • Rick Wiltzius, Wausau, Wis.

Beginning Sunday, Jan. 1, fans can read the finalists’ profiles and vote online by logging on to http://www.jsonline.com/packersfan. The nominee receiving the most votes will be named the 14th member of the Packers FAN Hall of Fame.

Ballots also are available at Wisconsin locations of Best Buy, Goodwill and Mattress Firm, as well as at the Lambeau Field Atrium. Completed ballots can be mailed to the address listed on the ballot or dropped off at Goodwill and Mattress Firm stores in Wisconsin.

The voting deadline is midnight, Feb. 5, 2012. Any mail in ballots must be postmarked by Feb. 5 in order to be counted. Voters will be entered into a random drawing to win a 2012 road trip to a Packers away game.

The honoree’s selection will be announced Feb. 14, 2012. He or she will receive four club seats to a 2012 Packers home game; a $500 Packers Pro Shop gift certificate; a road trip for two to a 2012 Packers away game, including game tickets, air fare and hotel accommodations; and a one-year subscription to Packers Plus and Packer Insider.

The honoree also will have his or her name permanently displayed in a place of honor in the Packers Hall of Fame.