• Green Bay kicks off its 92nd season in team history – and 90th as a member of the National Football League – at Philadelphia this afternoon.
  • The Packers open up the season against the Eagles for the sixth time in franchise history but for the first time in Philadelphia. The Packers are 4-1 in previous openers against Philadelphia, with matchups in 1934, 1940, 1968, 1991 and 2007. In the ’07 opener, Green Bay beat Philadelphia, 16-13, on rookie Mason Crosby’s 42-yard field goal with two seconds remaining.   
  • Opening the season on the road has been a rare occurrence for the Packers. Since 1986, 21 of Green Bay’s season openers have been at Lambeau Field, making today’s game just the fourth time the in the past 25 years that the Packers have gone on the road to begin a season.
  • Today’s contest will be the first time during Head Coach Mike McCarthy’s tenure that the Packers have started their season away from Lambeau Field. The last time Green Bay started a season on the road was at Detroit in 2005.
  • Even though it has become accustomed to opening at home, Green Bay has started fast on the road under McCarthy. The team is 4-0 in its first road contest of the season under him, and 5-2 (.714) in September road contests during his tenure.
  • Green Bay enters today’s contest having won three straight season openers, making the Packers one of only five teams in the NFL to accomplish that feat. Dallas, Denver, New England and Pittsburgh have also won their season openers each of the past three years.
  • The last time the Packers won three or more consecutive season openers came from 1996-99.
  • Today’s game is a matchup of two of the most successful teams in the league over the past decade. Since 2000, the Eagles have a regular-season record of 103-56-1 (.647), which is tied for third in the NFL and first in the NFC. The Packers have posted a mark of 95-65-0 (.594) over that span, good for fifth in the NFL and second in the NFC.
  • There have been only two seasons (1999, 2005) since 1992 that didn’t include either the Packers or the Eagles in the playoffs. Since realignment in 2002, the Eagles lead the NFC with six playoff berths, while the Packers are tied for second in the conference with five appearances.

  • Today’s contest is the 37th time that the Packers and Eagles have squared off in the regular season, with Green Bay holding a 23-13 advantage in the series.
  • This year marks the 50th anniversary of the most famous matchup between the teams. On Dec. 26, 1960, Philadelphia beat Green Bay, 17-13, in the NFL Championship Game at Franklin Field.
  • Green Bay couldn’t hold a 13-10 fourth-quarter lead, with Eagles RB Ted Dean scoring the game-winning TD with just over five minutes remaining. The Packers drove to the Eagles’ 22 on their final possession, but Philadelphia LB Chuck Bednarik stopped Green Bay FB Jim Taylor at the 8 as time expired.
  • It was the only time Vince Lombardi lost a postseason game, and the legendary coach went on to lead the Packers to nine straight playoff wins after the loss in Philadelphia.

  • Faced with some of the toughest cuts of his tenure, General Manager Ted Thompson and the football operations staff finalized the opening-day roster last weekend.
  • It’s a balanced roster for Green Bay, which holds 26 offensive players, 24 defensive players and three specialists.
  • Of the 53 players on Green Bay’s roster, 36 of them (67.9 percent) were drafted by the Packers, and 39 of them (73.6 percent) played in a game for the Packers in 2009.
  • Six of the team’s seven draft picks from 2010 made the 53-man roster. The only one that didn’t, sixth-round RB James Starks, is on the reserve/physically unable to perform list due to a hamstring injury. Three non-drafted free agents (G Nick McDonald, CB Sam Shields and LB Frank Zombo) also made the final roster.
  • 11 players on the team have yet to play in an NFL regular-season game. The list is comprised of the nine rookies and two first-year players (P Tim Masthay and TE Tom Crabtree).
  • The breakdown by position is fairly consistent with last year’s opening-day roster. The Packers kept one more offensive lineman and one more tight end with one fewer running back and one fewer linebacker on the final 53.

As per team tradition, the Packers select game captains each week.   
Today’s captains will be QB Aaron Rodgers (offense), CB Charles Woodson (defense) and K Mason Crosby (special teams).


Today’s officiating crew includes referee John Parry (132), umpire Dan Ferrell (64), head linesman Derick Bowers (74), line judge Rusty Baynes (59), field judge Scott Edwards (3), side judge Keith Washington (7) and back judge Perry Paganelli (46).

The Packers take on the Buffalo Bills next Sunday at noon (CDT) in the home opener at Lambeau Field. Philadelphia travels to Detroit to square off against the Lions at Ford Field next Sunday at noon (CDT).